Connect Google Workspace lets you securely delegate email and calendar access to others without sharing your password. If you manage Connect functional accounts, you can also easily grant or revoke access for team members on an as-needed basis.
Google's 2-Step Verification is bypassed when accessing a delegated account because the secure authentication takes place during the delegate confirmation process.
For assistance with setting up email delegation, you can view our training video.
Email Delegation
When granting access to an individual, use their UCSBnetID@ucsb.edu address. You can also grant access to an entire team at once by inviting a Google Group address. If you prefer to hide the delegate's name when they send emails on your behalf, go to Settings > Accounts and toggle "Show this address only" under Sender Information.
https://support.google.com/mail/answer/138350
The delegate will receive a confirmation email from UC Santa Barbara. Once they click the confirmation link, the delegated account will soon appear under their Gmail profile icon in the top right corner. To access the account, the delegate simply clicks their profile icon and selects the delegated account's name (e.g., "ETS Demo" in the screenshot below) to open it in a new browser tab.
If the delegate is using Microsoft Outlook, they need to follow these instructions to add the account to their Outlook profile:
https://support.google.com/a/users/answer/170961
We suggest you wait one hour after setting up delegation in the Google Workspace Gmail App before attempting to add the account to Outlook.
Calendar Delegation
If you wish to delegate access to your calendar, please follow these instructions: